Twitter Now Lets Users Mute Your Business
Twitter was spotted testing a mute button feature a couple weeks ago. Now, the company has officially announced it. It appears in the iPhone and Android apps, as well as on Twitter.com.
You can mute people from tweets or from profiles. If you’re using Twitter on the web, you can muse from a Tweet by clicking “More,” then “Mute.” From a profile, click the gear icon, then select “mute.”
Instructions on muting people from each app can be found here.
“Mute gives you even more control over the content you see on Twitter by letting you remove a user’s content from key parts of your Twitter experience,” says product manager Paul Rosania.
“In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a Tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you’d like to hear from less,” he adds. “Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time.”
When you have someone muted, you’ll see a red mute icon on their profile. Click it to unmute them.
The feature is rolling out over the course of the next few weeks, so if you don’t see it yet, sit tight.
Twitter’s TweetDeck interface already includes a mute option.
|Small Business News is brought to you by iEntry, Inc.|